A bit of this and that

My posts here tend towards single issue posts. I rarely post small things, or things I haven’t thought through or so on. (I use tumblr for that…) As a result, I post fairly infrequently- I post on big ideas that take a long time to find words for.  But I feel like I ought to post something, so I am putting this post together out of pieces. Maybe it will lose me some of the things that people think of me but… well, I need to think something of all this as well, don’t I?

So, you are getting a post abut my latest DC trip.

I came down via plane on Sunday. I had NARP meetings all day Monday and half the day on Tuesday. I went down to the Occupy/decolonize DC  site Tuesday afternoon, which I’m writing another post on.

Wednesday night was the ASAN 5 year anniversary dinner. I do have an album for pictures people took of me at the dinner on Facebook, but I didn’t have a camera myself. I believe that Melody Latimer is looking for photos from this event for the ASAN anniversary edition newsletter? (If you have any, send them to mlatimer@autisticadvocacy.org- or you can link/tag them?)

Savannah, a large white looking person in a grey dress and black kerchief over reddish hair, and Claudia Alderman, a short Latina woman, in a fancy dining area standing

Since I arrived early, Claudia had me help with some set up stuff.

I personally was a little exhausted by all the social-making there, though Ari Ne’eman’s and Sharon Lewis’s speeches were fabulous. I was feeling a bit overwhelmed and had stepped out of the room for Alexa Posny’s speech, though. The desserts included creme puffs shaped like swans and chocolate covered mousse shaped like mice. Corina did take pictures of our desserts, but Corina hasn’t uploaded her pictures yet.

I also got to talk to Lindsey Nebeker, Lori Berkowitz and her partner Karen Hillman, Corina Becker, Lydia Brown, Lauren Gilbert, Melody Latimer, Kathryn Bjørnstad and her fiance Sean, and lots of other people. Food-wise, I rather liked these spinach things? I also discovered that Scotch and ginger ale is better than just Whiskey and Gingerale. Who knew?

Nancy Thayler was given the Outstanding Ally award, and Corina and  Kathryn were awarded the Exceptional Services to the Autistic Community Award.

For anyone who was unaware, it was at the National Press Club in DC.  It was probably the ritziest place I’ve ever been, and I’ve been to a dinner at the Ritz in NYC before.

Thursday night, 8 Autistics and one Allistic (Kathryn’s Fiance) descended upon Lindsey and Dave’s house for a total of 10 Autistics for dinner. Emily Titon cooked a Mango Curry Chicken dish. It was interesting to have so many of us all in that house being community.

A view from over the back of a chair of a bunch of people of varying genders, sizes, and ethnicities on floors and chairs and both using and not using computers.

Scott and I on our computers, while Melody, Kathryn, and Lydia... Do other things while being all Autistic community-y.

At the beginning of the night, we had a bit of a show and tell about stim toys and stuff. Lindsey also graciously let us on her and Dave’s wifi. We spent time in a couple of different rooms on the ground floor. The food took a long time to make, but it was delicious.

a large white person in a colorful kerchief folded over themselves, barely recognizable from a pile of fabric, head on a pillow facing a computer, through the legs of a piano bench.

Between the Stim toy show and tell and later, I curled up like I do sometimes next to Lindsey's Piano. Lydia then took this photo.

The Next morning, I went to the Alliance for Full Participation conference with Emily and Scott. (Ari came later and helped facilitate a session.) The topic was inclusive employment, and it was rather interesting. I also got a chance to see my friend Bill Krebs while I was there, and introduced him to some ASAN people.

Speaking of “ritzy” places, it was held at the Gaylord National Harbor Hotel and Convention Center. Apparently it is the biggest Hotel and conference center on the eastern sea board?  I don’t know but there’s basically a whole village in the atrium. They do have nice couches? Though I sat on the floor  for the “Town Hall”. . .

Savannah, a large white person, sitting on the floor while wearing a brown cardigan and a colorful handkerchief, her netbook perched on her lap.

Sitting on the floor at the AFP Town Hall.

The Town Hall was HUGE- most of the seats were filled and I didn’t want to have to attempt navigating to find a seat since there were already people standing. The crowd was a mix of self advocates, employers/business people, and providers. It was… interesting.

I also had a few side conversations with both Scott Robertson and Betsy Valnes (at different times) via my netbook and word pad. In fact on my facebook the above photo is labled, “At the AFP Conference Using word pad to communicate in a load crowded room.” (Emily, who took the photo, labeled it “Savannah, looking lovely as always.” I think I look like I have liver failure and no sleep.)

Later on, in a break out session, I sat in a group that focused on starting your own business. It was interesting I Think. While in that group, because it was an anxiety producing situation, I used my netbook and word pad for communication.

I am not at the conference today- I need the day to decompress before I take the train home tomorrow afternoon. (And yes, I do love taking the train- it is less expensive than the plane, too!)

I hope this not-so-issue centered post was okay to read. I find that I don’t particularly find this post all that great, but I did want to get the little slice of Autistics having/building community out there, and wanted to share a DC trip with everyone.

Leave a Reply

