Backlash and a Few Days Out of the Loop

I went to my grandmother’s for a few days (also: caught a ride to my blood work appointment) and the timing for that was SO not right. But I think I needed it (as it’s too early to see results for a new med) as I’m feeling a lot better and more prepared to do something other than sluggishly struggle to fit thing together.

A lot has happened since I went to Grandmother’s.

A good and comprehensive round up can be found on Liz’s I Speak of Dreams. Please contribute to her round up if you have anything! Also, my friend C1audia has an open letter on her blog that Is a good read. (C1audia is awesome, and I recommend you give her whole blog a look. )

I don’t always agree with The New Republic’s style (I’m too bleeding heart), but I do agree with their latest post– and am tickled by what it has to say. First of all, A parody called “I Am Autism Speaks” was put on youtube supported by them. Here it is:

It promptly knocked The AutSpks “I Am Autism” down in youtube ranking, and caused the PR firms to panic. They’ve been tracked on the New Republic site. In addition, Autism Speaks UK has choosen to disassociate itself in the following manner:

..’The UK charity Autism Speaks is a separate entity from the US charity of the same name. Autism Speaks UK did not contribute to the making of this video and we do not share or support the views expressed in it, which are those of certain members of the board of trustees of Autism Speaks in the USA’..

Ouch!

I’ll try to keep up to date on this matter.

(sometime later in the evening)

So, New Republic is currently the number one Search Result for Autism Speaks on Google Blogs. (you can either click on the above link or here for a screen cap.)

Leave a Reply

